Charter Standard

The Charter Standard Scheme is a best practice guide that sets standards of coaching, administration and child protection for all clubs outside the Football League and Premier League. As a benchmark for quality, it will improve the playing experience for all.

The criteria to become a Charter Standard Club will vary depending on what type of Charter Standard your club wishes to achieve. The different types of status are: 

•  FA Charter Standard Club for youth and adult clubs: the entry-level accreditation
•  FA Charter Standard Development Club: for clubs clearly enhancing the quality and scope of their football offering
•  FA Charter Standard Community Club: acknowledging the most advanced level of club development and football provision.

Clubs that are successful in achieving the Charter will get access to a range of benefits including:

  • Use of Charter Standard Crest
  • Exclusive Workshops
  • Nike Footballs 
  • National and Regional Awards
  • Access to FA McDonald's Community Awards
  • Certificates
  • Starter Pack, including Posters, Codes of Conduct, Certificates
  • Entered into a draw for England tickets
  • Coaching Sessions
  • Raise the profile of your club and help attract/retain players, volunteers and sponsors

Please click on the documents below for a more detailed explanation of the benefits.

To find out how your club can achieve FA Charter Standard Status, call Samantha Brown on 020 8733 2613 option 4 or email

Becoming A Charter Standard Club

Charter Standard Annual Health Check

In-Service Events

  Member Services
  • Find a club near you
Advanced Search Loading...
Criminal Records Check
Buy Now England vs Slovenia