Laws Of The Game

The 17 Laws of the Game (11-a-side football) are laid down by FIFA, and apply worldwide.

Today's 17 Laws continue to be based upon the rules that were first ratified by the International Football Association Board (IFAB) when it was founded in 1886.

Changes have occurred in accordance with the specific evolution and demands of modern-day football, but the key element remains of football being seen as essentially a simple game, with laws that can be applied in the same way at any level from the World Cup Final to a friendly game on a local park.

You can view the latest version of the Laws of the Game for different formats of football by using the links below.

11-a-side football

Small-sided football and FUTSAL


11-a-Side Law Changes Season 2016-17

All the necessary information concerning the Laws of the Game including the recent changes can be found on the new International Football Association Board (IFAB) web site which you can go to by clicking  here

If you click on the tab “Laws of the Game” and go to the bottom of the page, you will be able to download the changes. The booklet has a summary at the beginning.

You will also find the Twitter feed useful.

Alternatively, if you only want to know the main changes for 2016-17 then you can click  here

What's On

Until we have your approval, we must limit some functionality - More details