Grassroots football awards

FA Grassroots Football Awards 2021


The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards are for people who make a positive difference. It’s our way to celebrate the fantastic individuals who put their heart and soul into the grassroots game across England – and say a huge thank you to the incredible volunteers who inspire us all.

Learn more about the Amateur FA 2021 winners below.

Club of the Year - Bealonians FC

Football for all is their ethos. They are passionate about development and promote the concept that winning is not the first goal, but to underhand that improving players skill and knowledge of the game, will result in winning being the end product.

Adults Grassroots Coach of the Year - Bill Blackwell, Bealonians FC

Bill has a commitment and enthusiasm for coaching, and allied with great his knowledge of the grassroots game, he help all players improve both on and off the pitch.

League of the Year - Southern Amateur League

Project of the Year - Ladies Super Liga

Ladies Super Liga is a diverse league, with all different people playing for the league from different backgrounds and of all abilities. Everyone is welcome. The league offers something for everyone, including a social space that goes beyond playing football.

Volunteer of the Year - Stacey Cruse, Ladies Super Liga

Grassroots Football Award Winner - Stacey Cruse

Stacey has worked tirelessly to encourage women to play 5 a side and 7 a side football. She has developed affordable leagues. The league first started with a few teams about 10 years, and now has developed into two leagues with spaces for beginners and advanced players teams. Stacey keeps the league friendly and open to all. It is a safe space for women to return to football, to build and develop skills. Through the leagues, friendships develop. This is a safe, encouraging social space bringing together women from all backgrounds and ages who share one passion. Football.

Spirit of Grassroots Football - Super 5 League

Grassroots Football Awards Winner - Super 5 League

The league does an amazing job of engaging and supporting all the teams within the league to provide the best experience for all the participants. During the lockdown period they organised a number of activities including online fitness sessions and coaching sessions that kept everyone active. 

find out who the previous winners were


Club of the Year: Dorkinians
Coach of the Year: Luke Graham (Old Meadonians)
Grounds Team of the Year: Globe Rangers
Match Official of the Year: Matt Smith
Rising Star of the Year: Kiki Bustos (Goldsmiths Uni)
Volunteer of the Year: Lisa Sparkes (Kew Association)

Club of the Year
: Priory Park
Coach of the Year: Perry Leeks (Bealonians)
Grounds Team of the Year: Old Owens
League of the Year: Super 5 League
Match Official of the Year: Jay Knight
Rising Star of the Year: Odge Davey (Old Malverian)
Volunteer of the Year: Dominic Roberts (Old Blues)

Find out about the 2020 winners here.