History of the AFA

History of the Amateur FA


The Amateur FA was formed in 1907, when the Football Association required all county associations to admit professional clubs.

We're unusual among County FAs in not being based around a particular geographical area.

Originally called the Amateur Football Defence Foundation, the name was quickly changed to Amateur Football Association, which soon became the Amateur Football Alliance as you see it today.

Its aim was, as the decline of amateurism at the highest levels of football set in, to protect and preserve the original amateur spirit.

It has always prided itself on the skill and competitiveness of its leagues, and on its traditions of fair play and respect for opponents and match officials.

Many leagues still maintain local rules that require clubs to provide food and drink to their opponents and match officials after the match in a clubhouse or public house.

Three current AFA clubs are former FA Cup winners: Old Etonians and Old Carthusians, who currently play in the Arthurian League, and Clapham Rovers. Past members of the AFA include Ipswich Town, Barnet, Cambridge City, the Casuals and the Corinthians.

Sir Stanley Rous, who was president of FIFA, was also the president of the AFA.

We also provide the appropriate structures and systems to enable the AFA to control, manage, regulate and promote the game within the county. This enables us to assist with the development of the game at all levels, ensuring we are able to increase the quality and quantity of participation across the various sections of participation. Whilst the majority of our clubs are in London and the Home Counties, we have member clubs throughout England.

We pride ourselves on the skill and competitiveness of our leagues, and on our traditions of fair play and respect for opponents and match officials.

Recent News

View All